One of the basics of workers' compensation law in Arizona is that benefits are for those who are injured at work. While this may seem simple enough to determine in most circumstances, in other cases, it can be hard to know whether an injured employee was actually on the job when he or she got hurt.
It was good news for Phoenix employers last year when workers' compensation insurance premium rates fell by 6 percent statewide in 2015. This markdown outpaced 2014's rate increase of 3.2 percent. Now, for 2016, a major workers' compensation rating organization is recommending further cuts in insurance rates for this state, having requested that Arizona regulators approve a 2.2 percent reduction.
As last week's blog post discussed, Arizona workers have a lot to worry about when it comes to filing their own workers' compensation claims. Even in a relatively small matter, an injured Maricopa County worker will have to meet deadlines, review notices and forms and take a lot of other steps in order to process their claim and get the compensation to which they are entitled.
An Arizona employee, particularly if they have what seems to be a minor injury, may think it best just to handle the filing of a workers' compensation claim themselves. While this is the right of every Phoenix resident, a person may still want to think twice before staking out on their own. In many cases, it may be best to resist the temptation to cut out an experienced lawyer in an effort to supposedly save money.